Food Adventures in Italy

Backyard view from our home in Salle, Abruzzo

Backyard view from our home in Salle, Abruzzo

Domani si parte!  We’re flying out tomorrow and will spend the next five weeks in Italy. This summer trip is particularly exciting for me as it is my first as a food blogger.  I’ll roam around Firenze for a few days in search of the best pappa al pomodoro and then head down to Abruzzo for innumerable culinary adventures, among them:  a class in seafood cookery on a trabocco in the Adriatic town of Vasto; a food walking tour in the medieval village of Guardiagrele; visits to farms and artisanal producers of typical prodotti abruzzesi;  a day-trip to the unspoiled Tremiti islands; and last, but not least, my very first cooking class in Italy alongside two special friends and collaborators.  So if you find yourself in or around Abruzzo or have friends or relatives visiting or living in the area, I invite you to join us on Saturday, July 20th for a day of Abruzzo Country Cooking.

Spaghetti alla chitarra is on the menu at Abruzzo Country Cooking

Spaghetti alla chitarra is on the menu at my cooking class, Abruzzo Country Cooking

I personally can’t imagine more inspiring subject matter on which to write so I hope you’ll join me as I bring La Majella to you.  A presto!  Michelle

P.S. – I’ll post photos on Facebook frequently so if you haven’t done so already, go ahead and “Like” my page.  Ciao!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Food Adventures in Italy

  1. Helen Free July 7, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Great news, Michelle. I feel fortunate to be in your culinary cradle. Rock me with your adventures. Safe and fulfilling travel!

    • Majella Home Cooking July 7, 2013 at 9:42 pm Reply

      Thanks, Helen. Wish our time in Italy had overlapped. Grazie mille e un abbraccio forte! M. P.S. -Love the”culinary cradle” turn of words 😉

  2. ciaochowlinda July 8, 2013 at 8:40 am Reply

    I’m back in the U.S. and just listening to what you’re about to embark on has me wishing I were back in Italy. I’m particularly interested in hearing about the Tremiti islands, a place I’ve long wanted to visit. Have a wonderful time – but I know you will.

    • Majella Home Cooking July 8, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

      Thanks, Linda! I wish our trips had overlapped. I’m excited for the Tremiti as well as i just learned there is a direct ferry from Vasto. Have a wonderful summer and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

