Farro e Ceci, Summer-Style

Zuppa di Farro e Ceci

A summertime version of Farro e Ceci

On the rare occasion that my father cooked when I was growing up, he always made the same dish: pasta e ceci, pasta and chick peas floating in a light tomato broth scented with basil and finished with a drizzle of good olive oil.  It was as simple as could be, but I loved it and I’ve adopted it as my own go-to dish on particularly busy weeknights.  When I have time, though, I love to experiment with bean soups such as this farro e ceci which was inspired by a farewell meal cooked by my friend and neighbor at the end of our summer stay in Abruzzo last year.  More like a hearty bean stew than a soup, Roberta’s rosemary-infused farro e ceci had a deep tomato flavor and was as satisfying as any meaty stew I’ve ever eaten.

Chick peas or "ceci"

Chick peas or “ceci”

My version of Roberta’s farro e ceci includes basil from my herb garden and one of only two food items I ever miss during my summers in Italy: fresh sweet summer corn.  (The other is peanut butter which I can live without because I quite convincingly tell myself that Nutella is a viable nutritional substitute.)  The corn in Italy just doesn’t compare to the local corn grown on the East End of Long Island, which, at its peak, is so sweet and tender that it barely requires cooking.

Not to worry, though, Italy’s other infinite culinary draws will inevitably lessen my nostalgia for home sweet summer corn, and if they don’t, I’ll just double up on the Nutella.

The addition of corn and basil makes this soup summery

The fresh corn in this rustic soup/stew gives it both a wonderful sweetness and a textural crunch.

Farro e Ceci

Recipe by Majella Home Cooking ©

Serves 4-6

  • I lb dried chick peas, cooked (see notes below)
  • 2 tablespoons of good-quality extra virgin olive oil plus more for drizzling
  • 1 large shallot, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 ½ cups of farro
  • A 28-oz jar of good-quality whole peeled tomatoes, crushed by hand, seeds removed
  • 8 cups of water
  • Kernels from 3 ears of sweet corn
  • Lots of fresh basil leaves, torn by hand
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

To a heavy-bottomed stainless steel, cast-iron or clay pot, add  the 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat until shimmering.  Add the shallot, garlic and celery and a teaspoon of salt, and sauté, stirring frequently until the vegetables are golden and have softened, about 6-8 minutes. Add the farro and stir until the grains are well-coated, about 1 minute.  Add the crushed tomatoes and water, raise the heat and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and stir often so that the farro doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot.  After the farro cooks for 20 minutes, add an additional teaspoon of salt, the chick peas and corn and simmer together over low heat for 12-15 minutes more, stirring often and periodically adding a ladleful of water if soup/stew becomes too thick.  When the farro and corn are tender and the flavors have melded together, turn off the heat and stir in the torn basil leaves.   Adjust the seasoning with salt and pepper and drizzle in some good olive oil.  Serve with crusty toasted bread.  Buon appetito!

My extra two cents:  I pre-cook artisanal dried chick peas and add ¼ cup of olive oil, rosemary or bay leaves and two garlic cloves to the cooking water.  I then use the seasoned, somewhat starchy cooking water for the soup.  Canned beans may be substituted, but make sure to rinse them thoroughly under cold water until you no longer see any “foam.”  When fresh plum tomatoes are in season, you may replace the canned peeled tomatoes with 2 lbs of fresh tomatoes, peeled and seeded.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Farro e Ceci, Summer-Style

  1. Ovid July 2, 2013 at 2:14 pm Reply

    Chick peas are something that I only recently discovered in Abruzzo. They are so tasty and versatile. This one is next on my list – thanks Michelle!

    • Majella Home Cooking July 3, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Aren’t they wonderful, Katy? They are truly a staple in our home no matter the season. Ci vediamo presto!

  2. ciaochowlinda July 5, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

    Lovely dish Michelle. I never would have thought to incorporate the corn, but it makes for a more complex, and delicious meal.

  3. tinywhitecottage July 6, 2013 at 11:35 am Reply

    I certainly love your blog! This is a recipe you would never find anywhere. Thank you so much for sharing it and I’ll let you know how it turns out for me.

    • Majella Home Cooking July 6, 2013 at 11:37 am Reply

      Thanks so much! I truly appreciate that. Certainly do let me know how it turns out. I’m leaving for Italy on Monday so many more recipes to come!

      • tinywhitecottage July 6, 2013 at 11:42 am

        Yay! Safe travels and … yes, I’m green with envy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

