Mandorlata di Peperoni – Finding Sicily in Abruzzo

Mandorlata di peperoni, a sweet-and-sour Sicilian chutney of roasted peppers and almonds

Mandorlata di peperoni, a sweet-and-sour Sicilian chutney of roasted peppers and almonds

The ethnic composition of many Americans resembles a patchwork quilt – I have friends whose children are Colombian and Algerian; Korean, German and Welsh; Dominican, Cuban and Irish. They have (mostly) affectionate anecdotes about the clash of cultures and the challenges of adapting to the customs of the families into which they married.

When I was growing up, my home wasn’t a battlefield of countries, but of Italian regions. My Abruzzese father and Siciliana mother immigrated to the US with their respective families and met in Astoria, Queens in the early 1970s. When they married and had me, I benefited from exposure to the rich traditions of both regions and was fortunate to have learned from them true Italian rather than dialect. On the flip side, my parents were fiercely proud – and more than occasionally competitive – of where they came from. After an argument, they’d mutter politically incorrect stereotypes under their breaths and disparage each other’s dialects (Abruzzese was declared “rough” and Sicilian “un-Italian”).

Their lowest blows were directed at the regional cuisine of the other. From my father: “Non mi piace tutta quella roba dolce che fanno loro” – “I don’t like all that sweet stuff they make.” And from my mother: “Ma cosa cucinano loro? Solo carne arrostita e pasta – niente particolare” “What do they even cook? Only roasted meat and pasta. Nothing special.”

My mother's hometown of Caltabellotta, Sicily

My mother’s hometown of Caltabellotta, Sicily

Even now, after nearly 50 years of living outside of Italy and 40 years of marriage, they still instinctively side with their own. Just last month, when I purchased a few good bottles of Italian olive oil and conducted a little taste-testing, the stuff barely made it to their lips before each proclaimed the oil from his and her respective region the winner.

Because my family has a house in my dad’s village, I’ve spent a lot more time in Abruzzo than I have in Sicily. Although she’d never admit it, I know it ever-so-slightly irritates my mom that my days are now spent with La Majella on the brain at every pass. I can sense it in her subtle suggestions of Sicilian dishes for my catering menus and in her overly-enthusiastic praise of my caponata (a dish my father, of course, deems “troppo dolce” – too sweet).

View of La Majella from my dad's village of Salle in Abruzzo

View of La Majella from my dad’s village of Salle in Abruzzo

My parents’ regional tensions somehow followed me to the Let’s Blog Abruzzo conference earlier this month. In a village perched high in the mountains of Abruzzo, after telling a new acquaintance where my parents were born, she nodded knowingly in response, and said, “Ah, si, sembri molto Siciliana” – “Yes, you seem very Sicilian.” I could literally feel my mother’s beam of smug satisfaction projecting across the Atlantic (and when I posted the woman’s observation to my mom’s Facebook wall, my dad commented in reply, “E’ impossibile” – “It’s impossible”). The very next day, while enjoying a quintessentially Abruzzese lunch of timballo and arrosticini with the brilliant and charming journalist, Judith Harris, I found myself jotting down Judith’s beautiful recipe for mandorlata di peperoni, a Sicilian chutney of sweet peppers and almonds.

So just as mothers have a way of following you wherever you go, Sicily – and by association, my mother – found me in Abruzzo. I know how desperately she wishes my grandfather had never sold her family’s parcel of land that was blanketed in olive, almond and apricot trees and I, too, wish we had a family home in Sicily like we do in Abruzzo. I haven’t been to Sicily during my adult life and lately, I feel as if my mother’s native island is calling me to come and discover my other half. Hopefully, my mom and I will take a trip together next spring, but for now, I’ll have to settle for this Sicilian mandorlata di peperoni, which somehow made its way to me via Abruzzo.

Mandorlata di Peperoni

Recipe by Majella Home Cooking © as adapted from Judith Harris

Bruschetta

  • 8 mixed red, yellow and orange bell peppers, left whole
  • 1/3 cup almonds, roasted and coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup tomato sauce
  • ¼ cup golden raisins
  • A few leaves of torn basil

Preheat a broiler or light a grill. Place the peppers, skin and stems left intact, on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Roast or grill, turning occasionally, until the peppers are shriveled and their skins are completely blackened and charred. Remove the peppers to a paper bag and seal the bag until the peppers cool. Peel and clean the peppers, discarding the skins, seeds, stems, and inner white membranes. Cut the cleaned peppers into ½ inch strips.

To a saucepan, add the peppers, almonds, sugar, vinegar, salt, tomato sauce and raisins. Turn the heat to medium-low, and allow to simmer, stirring frequently, until the sauce and vinegar have evaporated, about 5-7 minutes. Remove to a glass or ceramic bowl and allow them to cool. Cover and let the peppers sit for at least 8 hours, or overnight in the refrigerator, so that the flavors meld together. Return to room temperature prior to serving. Garnish with torn basil and a drizzle of good olive oil and serve with crusty bread. Buon appetito!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Mandorlata di Peperoni – Finding Sicily in Abruzzo

  1. tinywhitecottage June 18, 2013 at 12:17 am Reply

    Looks delicious! Like the golden raisins in the recipe.

  2. guerrierodipace June 18, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

    bravissima 🙂

  3. Sammy June 18, 2013 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Lovely story and this I have to try, it looks divine and has all my favourite ingredients

    • Majella Home Cooking June 18, 2013 at 1:35 pm Reply

      Thanks, Sammy! I have Judith to thank – and by association, you, for introducing me to her. See you in a few weeks – quite literally, can’t wait!

  4. Susanna Iraci June 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm Reply

    this sounds incredibly delicious, i will have to try! thank you and judith for the inspiration, all the way from italy to new york and back 😉

  5. ciaochowlinda June 19, 2013 at 1:05 am Reply

    Oh how I loved reading this beautifully crafted piece about your parents. I could just see them talking and gesticulating about their individual region’s attributes. Yes, you must,must, must pay homage to your mother’s heritage not just with this terrific recipe, but with a trip to Sicily. It will be a trip you’ll always remember – and think of the recipes you’ll come back with!

    • Majella Home Cooking June 19, 2013 at 8:39 pm Reply

      Thanks, Linda. I literally feel a physical pull towards Sicily lately. I wish I could go this summer, but we already have so many plans in Abruzzo. Tuscany, etc. Next year, for sure. And for the record, when I asked my mom this morning whether she had read the post, she replied that she had and said, “You know it’s true about their food.” 😉

      • Susanna Iraci June 20, 2013 at 10:03 am

        ahah! your mom è grandiosa!! (e ha un pò ragione… 🙂

      • Majella Home Cooking June 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm

        Ha! Dice la marchegiana 😉

  6. Domenica Marchetti June 20, 2013 at 5:07 pm Reply

    This is a wonderful piece, Michelle. Beautifully crafted, as Linda said, and I’m sure there are many who can relate to your story. I was in Sicily years ago. It was beautiful. We spent some time visiting friends in Mazara del Vallo, in the southwestern part of the island. You could see Tunisia from where we were staying. I wish I had paid more attention to the food, but I was a teenager so what did I know. You must take that trip with your mother. You’ll remember it always.

    • Majella Home Cooking June 20, 2013 at 5:22 pm Reply

      Grazie, Domenica. Like you, I haven’t been to Sicily since I was a teenager. However, there are a few things I remember as clear as day – “sfinciune” coming out of the communal forno; pillowy, buttery brioche filled with the best gelato my young palate had ever tasted; and eating almonds right from a tree on the land my mom still mourns. God willing, my mother and I will take that trip next year. Grazie ancora. Un abbraccio, M.

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

