An Adventure in the Making – Let’s Blog Abruzzo

www.blogaway.org - Signora Italia di Felice, the icon for Let's Blog Abruzzo

http://www.blogaway.org – Signora Italia di Felice, the icon for Let’s Blog Abruzzo

After months of hopeful indecision, last week, I booked my tickets for the first ever Let’s Blog Abruzzo food and travel blogging conference, which will be held in the Medici hilltop village of Santo Stefano di Sessanio on June 1st and 2nd.  As a new food blogger, I could have arguably waited another year before leaving my three young children (something I NEVER do – they’ve never even had a babysitter other than their grandparents) to fly across the Atlantic for four days (again, not exactly part of the day-to-day mommy routine) to attend a bloggers’ conference (something completely foreign to me until a few months ago) in Abruzzo (where I’m headed for six weeks only a month after the event).   So why go?

  1. Although I started my blog and am managing well enough, the blogosphere remains somewhat of a mystery to me.  I follow a number of other Italian food blogs and am in awe of their sophisticated design, inspired photography and impressive following.  I need some help taking my little blog to the next level and believe that Let’s Blog Abruzzo can help me get there.
  2. I don’t know how to tweet, I barely know how to pin, I’m not quite sure how to press , I haven’t linked in and I have no clue how to tumbl (if that’s even a word).  In short, except for Facebook, I’m a lone social media virgin in a brothel of experienced bloggers.  I hope that Let’s Blog Abruzzo’s impressive panel of speakers (including Rome food expert Katie Parla, whose blog, http://www.parlafood.com, I’ve been stalking for years) can help me become savvier to the social networking world.
  3. Whenever I say my dad is from Abruzzo, most Americans have no idea where it is.   At the same time, I’ve realized just how little of this magnificent region I actually know.   In attendance at Let’s Blog Abruzzo will be local wine producers, food tour operators, specialty food artisans and people in the hospitality industry.  I truly believe that Abruzzo is on the precipice of being discovered by the world and these are the people working tirelessly to put their region on the travel map.  I’m incredibly excited to meet them and brainstorm ways to help further their mission.
  4. Although I could have met the organizers and a number of the event’s attendees individually this summer, you can’t put a price tag on gathering together a group of people with common goals and interests in the same room.
  5. The profits from Let’s Blog Abruzzo will be donated to charities dedicated to recovery efforts from the 2009 earthquake that devastated so much of the area.   I visited the conference site, Santo Stefano di Sessanio, only last summer and was sobered by the image of the fallen medieval tower, the very symbol of this charming village.
  6. I spent years feeling regret – that I stayed in law school even though I knew it wasn’t right for me; that I went into corporate law (big $$$) rather than pursue an area of law that might have been more satisfying; that it took me nearly 10 years before I left; etc, etc, etc.   I knew full well that if I didn’t go, on June 1st, I would log in to Facebook and see photos posted by Let’s Blog Abruzzo’s attendees and be awash with regret.  I’m done with that.  (And the irony that a friend from law school in need of a break from work is joining me on this adventure is not lost on me.)

So there they are – what I believe are worthy reasons for flying across the Atlantic for a food and travel blogging conference.    I guess the fact that yesterday, at our sons’ little league baseball game, a good friend referred to me as, “a rock star mom who goes to Italy on business for four days” doesn’t hurt either!   😉

Here's my photo submission for a contest being held by the organizers of Let's Blog Abruzzo.   The challenge was to incorporate the photo of Signora Italia Di Felice, the symbol of the conference) in a unique way.  The winner will receive a free pass to the event.  Here I am as a modern-day Signora Italia across the Atlantic.  Please vote by pressing "View Entries" at the following link - https://www.facebook.com/blogAway.org/app_448952861833126

Here’s my photo submission for a contest being held by the organizers of Let’s Blog Abruzzo to win a two-day pass to the event. The challenge was to incorporate the photo of Signora Italia Di Felice in a unique way.  Here I am as a modern-day Signora Italia across the Atlantic. Please vote by clicking on “View Entries” at the following link – https://www.facebook.com/blogAway.org/app_448952861833126

For more information on the Let’s Blog Abruzzo conference, visit www.blogaway.org.   Hope to see you there!  Ciao!

The Medici Tower, the symbol of the the medieval hamlet of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, collapsed during the 2009 earthquake that destroyed Abruzzo's lovely capital L'Aquila.

The Medici Tower, the symbol of the medieval hamlet of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, collapsed during the 2009 earthquake that destroyed Abruzzo’s lovely capital of L’Aquila.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “An Adventure in the Making – Let’s Blog Abruzzo

  1. ciaochowlinda April 8, 2013 at 6:04 pm Reply

    You’ll have a wonderful time, meeting new people and learning new things. Oh how I were I were going to be there too but it falls right in the middle of when I’m back in the states from two trips to Italy I’ll be making in May and again in June. I know Helen has put in LOTS of work to make this a success. I hope to be able to schedule it for next year.

    • Majella Home Cooking April 8, 2013 at 6:10 pm Reply

      Thank you, Linda. I had to shed quite a few layers of mommy guilt before I could commit, but am very excited and can’t wait to meet Helen, Sammy and so many others in person. For your part, two spring trips to Italy don’t sound pretty good to me! I look forward to reading all about them.

  2. Gloria Murray April 8, 2013 at 6:33 pm Reply

    That is great! I am so happy for you. I want to write a thank you card to Nancy. Could you just email me a couple thank you sentences in Italian? I think that would be really nice. Enjoying your blog,

    Ciao!

    Gloria

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Lynn Walker April 8, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

    After all is said and done,your children will barely remember you were gone, but you will always remember your experience. Enjoy!

    • Majella Home Cooking April 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm Reply

      Thanks, Lynn…and in the end, I want them to be proud of their mom as well. All the best, Michelle

  4. […] more about why I decided to attend the Let’s Blog Abruzzo conference, please check out my post on Majella Home […]

  5. mltucker May 17, 2013 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Thanks for a great post Michelle. I think quite a few of us can relate to the ‘second class citizen’ status of the Abruzzi region and know of the many things it has to offer the visitor. Congrats on winning the photo competition. See you there! Maria Luisa

  6. Debra Kolkka May 21, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

    I am still thinking about whether to go or not. I will look into accommodation.

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

