An Italian Kid on an Irish Day in America

Ravioli

When I was in Catholic elementary school, the majority of my classmates were Irish-American.  My first grade teacher, Ms. Hanafin, was a proud Irish woman who zealously began decorating for St. Patrick’s Day the day after Valentine’s Day.  On the morning of March 18, 1983, Ms. Hanafin asked her pupils to take turns telling the class what they had eaten for dinner the evening prior.  One by one, each of my classmates answered, “corned beef and cabbage” or “corned beef and potatoes” or “Irish soda bread.”  As my turn approached, I began to panic.  Should I lie and say that I enjoyed the same St Paddy’s Day meal as the rest of my classmates?  But this was Catholic school…I’d be breaking a commandment if I lied!   When it reached my turn, and Ms. Hanafin asked, “Michelle, what did you have for dinner last night?”, I nervously answered, “Ravioli.”  An expression of horrified disappointment crossed her face as she somewhat hysterically (at least that’s how I remember it), said to me, “Ravioli???  You can’t eat ravioli on St. Patrick’s Day!”  My anxiety turned to defiance, and I matter-of-factly responded, “But I’m Italian.”  My new resolve gave way to embarrassment as the whole class laughed, but after bristling for a moment, Ms. Hanafin moved on to the next student, who obediently answered, “corned beef and cabbage,” although I’m pretty sure he only said it to avoid the same humiliation I had endured – his parents were Lebanese.

So since the saying goes that everyone is Irish today, I wish you all a Happy St Patrick’s Day…just forgive me if I’ll be eating ravioli.

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “An Italian Kid on an Irish Day in America

  1. Scott Bailey March 17, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

    It may be la festa di San Patricio, but it is also Italian Unification Day. Italy is 152 years old. So, got for the ravioli!

  2. ciaochowlinda March 17, 2013 at 6:24 pm Reply

    Loved the story. I would have had the same answer – even to this day, it’s ravioli.

    • Majella Home Cooking March 17, 2013 at 6:28 pm Reply

      Thanks, Linda. Although ravioli was definitely the right choice for today’s Sunday pranzo, I do wish I had bought some Irish soda bread today — on which I would have slathered Nutella!

  3. Antonette March 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm Reply

    Definitely related to this story…and we have always eaten “alla italiana”… but now my brother’s wife who is half irish gets a call from my mom to bring her some corn beef and cabbage because she likes the way she makes it….after the pasta of course!!! 🙂

  4. Joe March 21, 2013 at 9:16 am Reply

    Although my family did have corned beef and cabbage this year, you can be sure that I would rather be eating ravioli! Nice post!

    • Majella Home Cooking March 22, 2013 at 7:50 pm Reply

      I’m biased, Joe, but I’d pretty much always rather be eating ravioli! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Two Italian foodies tasting good food as they travel around the world!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

