Inspired Thanks

What inspires me...

What inspires me…

I was recently nominated by a fellow blogger – Travel. Garden. Eat. – for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  This particular award means a great deal to me because for so many years, inspiration is the very thing that was absent from my life.  I had love, health, family and friendship, but no inspiration.   Although lucrative, my career as a corporate attorney left me feeling wanting – I kept waiting for that elusive “something more” but was too afraid to seek it out.  My decision to finally stop practicing law was the most difficult I have ever made.  However, my new career cooking and writing and teaching about Italian food inspires me to learn more, do more and be more.

So to accept this award, I must follow four simple rules (listed in bold):

1. Display the award logo on your blog

very-inspiring-blog-award20121

2. Link back to the person who nominated you

My heartfelt thanks to Travel. Garden. Eat. (http://travelgardeneat.com/) for including me on its list of “Very Inspiring Bloggers” — Kat and I are kindred spirits when it comes to the “travel” and “eat” part… and I’m counting on her to help me with the “garden” bit!  I’m so fortunate to have found your smart, witty and creative blog.  Thank you for acknowledging mine.

3. State 7 things about yourself

  1. I’m a hopeless romantic and my favorite love story is from Canto 5 of Dante’s Inferno, the story of Paola Malatesta and Francesca da Rimini, the star-crossed lovers trapped in an eternal whirlwind in the second circle of hell, doomed to be forever swept through the air just as they allowed themselves to be swept away by their passions. “Galeotto fu ‘l libro e chi lo scrisse: quel giorno più non vi leggemmo avante.”
  2. I am an only child and have three little boys of my own (ages 7, 5 & 3).
  3. I am passionate about fresh, handmade pasta — among my favorites to make are tajarin, corzetti, orecchiette, cappellacci di zucca and gnocchi.
  4. Jane Austen is my favorite author.  I’ve read her books more times than I can count and wrote my college thesis on “The Vilification of Motherhood in Jane Austen’s novels.”
  5. Michelangelo’s Pieta’  in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome brings me to tears each time I see it.
  6. My mother’s Arancini – Sicilian rice balls – are my favorite food and I ask her to make them for my birthday every year.
  7. If I were given the choice of traveling only to Italy for the rest of my life or traveling the whole world but never visiting Italy again, I’d ditch the world and take Italy!

4. Nominate other bloggers for this award and link to them.

And now it’s time to pay it forward.  I would like to nominate the following bloggers for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

Thank you for inspiring me and keep doing what you do!  Ciao!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Inspired Thanks

  1. Fran Galante March 7, 2013 at 9:15 am Reply

    Congratulations and well deserved! Continued success as you pursue your passion !

  2. Kat at travelgardeneat March 7, 2013 at 9:44 am Reply

    Your blog is the best of so many worlds — good food, good writing and the images of Italy. . . . and perhaps as an attorney (with two not-so-little boys of my own, now teens), I feel a sense of kindred spirit on a certain level :-). I look forward to many more inspiring and mouth-watering posts.

  3. Joyce DeLaurentis March 7, 2013 at 10:01 am Reply

    Congrats on the brave, but happy step you took. I am ditching a career also, to be in Abruzzo more and while there read your blog and COOK! It has taken years to get myself to this point but SOON_ May will be here! Keep having fun and following your heart and tastebuds!. Joyce DeLaurentis

    • Majella Home Cooking March 8, 2013 at 3:24 pm Reply

      Thanks, Joyce. I wish you all the best. It isn’t easy, but it’s worth it! Keep in touch…perhaps we can meet in Abruzzo one day!

  4. Tina March 7, 2013 at 11:20 am Reply

    AUGURI!!!!! You are moving up, cousin!
    I must say, it certainly not an easy task to live as a first or second generation Italian American woman in today’s day and age — to be able to maintain our strongly rooted Italian cultures, traditions and family values while staying true to the the modern day American woman who is educated and has a career. The cultural identities and differences create an incredible internal struggle that is seldom discussed among Italian American women. But you have found that certain balance between the two and deserve all the good that comes along with it!! All the best for continues success!!

    • Majella Home Cooking March 8, 2013 at 5:21 pm Reply

      Thanks, T! It’s interesting to think about the path of Italian immigrants. A few generations ago, newly emigrated Italians faced prejudice and backlash and as a result, were eager to assimilate to their adopted country. In their need to Americanize, many made the choice to give up the language and facets of their culture. The next generation of immigrants – which included by parents in the 1960s – reaped the benefits of their predecessors’ sacrifices and arrived in a country where they were accepted and as a result, remained much more “Italian”. However, my mother, in particular always struggled with finding a balance between the traditional Sicily of her childhood and adolescence and the modern America of her adulthood and naturally, as her American daughter, I rebelled against the part of her that held on to the ways of the “old country.” It wasn’t until I began to travel to Italy on my own as a young adult, that I began to feel just how connected I was to my culture, and when I had kids, I almost felt that it was my duty to pass their cultural identity onto them.

  5. Antonette March 7, 2013 at 2:15 pm Reply

    Great for you Michelle!! Its a wonderful thing when you are doing something you love…preparing, cooking and eating great food and sharing all the greatness… 🙂

  6. gino March 7, 2013 at 5:58 pm Reply

    complimeti brava brava Michelle

  7. Inspired Thanks | Autumngas March 7, 2013 at 9:45 pm Reply

    […] Inspired Thanks. […]

  8. Kitty March 8, 2013 at 5:33 pm Reply

    Dear Majella,
    Congratulations! I’m new to your blog and find it fascinating. So pleased that you won.
    Happy International Day of the Woman!

    • Majella Home Cooking March 8, 2013 at 5:38 pm Reply

      Thank you and welcome, Kitty! Buona Festa delle Donne to you! All the best, Michelle

  9. dutchgoesitalian March 9, 2013 at 3:20 pm Reply

    Ciao Michelle, happy to have found your blog! Wonderful. Can’t wait to follow your cooking and writing 🙂 Oh and thanks for visiting my blog! Buona serata!! Letizia

    • Majella Home Cooking March 9, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

      Grazie, Letizia ed altre tanto! I look forward to reading about your adventures in Italy (which I confess I will read with more than a twinge of envy!). A presto! Ciao!

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

