Mothers & Daughters

The reason why so many Italian mothers are such talented home cooks isn’t exactly shrouded in mystery.  The simple truth is that their own mothers forced them to learn how to cook.  In years past, it was a mother’s duty to prepare her daughter to be a good wife and mother and it was a daughter’s duty to obey her mother.  Period. Amen.

As was the case with most Sicilian women of her time, my grandmother’s life was dictated by the tenets of dovere (duty), onore (honor) and fare la bella figura (loosely translated, making a good impression).  To my grandmother, even the slightest deviation from a woman’s traditional role of dutiful wife and daughter, responsible mother, meticulous housekeeper and accomplished cook and seamstress would have been disgraceful.  The home was her domain and her family was the center of her life.  (Reading Giovanni Verga’s play, “Cavalleria Rusticana”, in college was a revelatory experience for me. I began to understand just how deeply rooted these principles were, not only in my only family, but in Sicily’s cultural history.).  My mother, on the other hand, was, by all accounts, a vivacious young girl with little interest in domestic obligations.  Needless to say, it was not in my grandmother’s DNA to tolerate a free-spirited child who would prefer to run about town (Caltabellotta, in the province of Agrigento) than stand beside her in the kitchen learning dishes that would one day please her future husband.  As a result, my mother had to endure what she perceived as hours of servitude, but eventually became a brilliant home cook.

My mother's hometown of Caltabellotta, Sicily

My mother’s hometown of Caltabellotta, Sicily

I think my mom’s early resentment of the kitchen is the reason why she never pushed me to learn how to cook (all the while appalling her own mother).  She let me figure out how much I love food – and feeding people – on my own.  So while I can’t credit her for my own culinary chops, I do attribute my love of good, shortcut-free home cooking to my mother…and if my grandmother was alive, I think she would be pleased, to say the least.

My take on my mother's take on my grandmother's caponata -- each version pf this recipe is in our family vault!

My take on my mother’s take on my grandmother’s caponata — each version of this recipe is in our family vault!

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mothers & Daughters

  1. Ann Elizabeth Montgomery February 3, 2013 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Hi Michelle! I’m planning a trip to Southern Italy in May (I have a friend living in Naples). I’ve been to Italy 3 or 4 times, so I am planning to do something new: visit Sicily! Any recommendations? I have a friend who is a professor of classics and archaeology who is giving me some suggestions, but thought you could send along some down-home recommendations…would love to hear them! Ann Elizabeth

    • Majella Home Cooking February 3, 2013 at 10:21 pm Reply

      Hi Ann E! That sounds amazing! I have not seen as much of Sicily as I wish I had….I’ve obviously spent a bit of time in the area where my mother grew up (near Sciacca and Agrigento – tons of archaeological treasures in that area, as I’m sure you know) and in Palermo. However, I am really dying to visit the southeastern side above all else – Siracusa, Avola, Ragusa, Modica and Noto. I hear it is spectacular – exemplary art, architecture, food and vineyards. I don’t know how into cooking you are, but if you’re interesting, this is supposed to be an amazing culinary experience: http://www.annatascalanza.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&layout=item&id=110&Itemid=397&lang=en. Let me know where you decide to go!! Michelle

  2. Ann Elizabeth Montgomery February 4, 2013 at 11:46 am Reply

    Awesome! Thanks! My friend also recommended the southeastern side. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Heart in Abruzzo

Exploring my heritage in the green heart of Italy

Our Italian Table

A tavola non s'invecchia

Italy....and Me

food. italy. wine. books genealogy. travel. wine. get. the. idea?

Passion and Cooking

A Taste of Italian Life

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

Brisbane, Bagni di Lucca and everything in between

Where the foodies go

Travel adventures for the love of food - Dishes, places and recipes by two boundless foodies. Are you a foodie? Join the foodies!

madonna del piatto

A Kitchen with a View

Memorie di Angelina

Italian Home Cooking Made Easy

Due Spaghetti

Italian Food, Wine & Travel

Edible Queens: The Blog

Celebrating the food culture of New York's most diverse borough

American Food Roots

Why we eat what we eat

Domenica Cooks

Real. Italian.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

Adri Barr Crocetti

Italian Food, Family, and Culture

cocomerorosso

Regional Italian Food & Memories

Ciao Chow Linda

Regional Italian Food & Memories

